Whole Grain Blueberry Waffles

When my husband and I were registering for our wedding, I suggested we register for a waffle iron.  We didn’t end up getting one, but had oodles of giftcards to kohl’s and thought that a waffle iron is a must need in a home.  My husband didn’t seem to think so, but I convinced him that we get one anyway… and boy was he sure happy after I made him this recipe!  This is a weekend favorite breakfast that I make.  And you substitute any sort of fruit that you want in it, just be sure to cut up the fruit if it’s big/bulky.  I’ve used raspberries before and it was super yummy too!

For the full recipe please follow the link… http://www.eatbetteramerica.com/recipes/dinner/whole-grain-blueberry-waffles.aspx 

Ingredients:
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup oat flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1 TBSP sugar
  • 1 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 2 TBSP olive oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup of fruit (blueberries is my fav)

Directions:

Preheat your waffle iron.  Combine all ingredients together.  Leave fruit for last and lightly stir them in. Then spray down waffle iron with non-stick spray, I like to use olive oil spray.  And put about a cup of batter into waffle iron.  Depending on how thick your iron is will vary timing.  Mine is a belgium waffle iron and it takes about 5 minutes per waffle.    Then top with your favorite toppings and wahla!  My husband likes to put peanut butter and honey on top.  I tried this and it was surprisingly quite good! Enjoy. :)Image

Leave a Reply

