Doing “Jack”

Hey Everyone,

As some of you may know or may have noticed I have been posting more about my workouts lately.  I am a powerlifter (in training – I say in training because I have a long ways to go and a lot of work to do) and my training is very important to me.  I have been trying to work on my weak points lately by incorporating some different lifts from my normal regimen.  But besides my 3 hard lifting sessions where I do my core work I also like to add in other workouts like crossfit for my conditioning.  I hate traditional cardio and feel like I get way more out of crossfit-like workouts.  Last Friday I decided to do the WOD (workout of the day) called Jack.  It is in memory of Army Staff Sgt. Jack M. Martin III.  Anyway, I really liked this workout and thought I would share it with you.

“Jack”

20 minutes AMRAP (as many rounds as possible):

  • 10x push press
  • 10x kettlebell swings – if you don’t have one of these, which mine doesn’t then I use a dumbell, it’s not quite the same, but it’s better than not doing them.
  • 10 jump boxes

I was able to complete 8 rounds + 10 pp, 10 kb swings, and 5 jump boxes… Just couldn’t get them last 5 reps before the buzzer rang.  Welp, go out there and give this a try.  Guaranteed to work up a sweat!  Train hard everyone! :)

Leave a Reply

