Jamaican Jerk Chicken

Hey Everyone,

Every Wednesday is girl’s night for me and it was my turn to prepare a meal for the chicas.  So I decided it was time I try out a new recipe.  Jamaican jerk chicken sounded delicious so I found a recipe on allrecipes.com and decided to try this one out because it wasn’t too complicated and the ingredients sounded yummy.  I also modified it a little bit based on what I had at home and from looking at other recipes.  With the meal I also made an array of grilled veggies and did raw veggies… got to stick with my cleansing diet that I just started!

Ingredients:

  • 5 chicken breasts
  • 8 TBSP of lime juice or 4 limes juiced
  • 1 cup of water
  • 2 tsp allspice
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 2 tsp thyme
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • 1 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 TBSP vegetable oil
  • 2 onions, chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped green onions
  • 6 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 2 jalapeno peppers, chopped
  • 2 TBSP light soy sauce
Directions:
Put all ingredients except lime juice, water, chicken, and soy sauce into a food processor.  Once that is all mixed up finely combine with water, lime juice, and soy sauce.  Then pour over chicken into a bowl and let marinade overnight, but reserve some of marinade for when you grill it.  Then next day plop chicken on preheated/olive oil sprayed grill and brush both sides with marinade after every flip.  Flip multiple time to get a thick coating on the breast.  Then take off the grill and serve!  It’s pretty delicious but I’m thinking I might try a few other recipes as well!  Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

