Quinoa Jambalaya

Hey Everyone,

So I’m trying to be healthy and make sure to keep eating clean.  I’m done with my cleansing phase and am down 5lbs in the last two weeks, which I am very happy with!  I have about 5-6lbs more to go to reach where I have to be for my powerlifting competition.  So I was searching for something new that was clean and came upon this quinoa jambalaya recipe from Oxygen magazine.  It turned out pretty dang good too!

I would probably add a little more spices next time around, but other than that I would definitely make this on a more regular basis.  Here is my rendition of the recipe.  Hope y’all enjoy! :)

Ingredients:

  • 1 TBSP olive oil
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 2 chicken sausage links sliced
  • 1/4 cup dry quinoa (normally found in the baked goods section by the flour or in the health market section)
  • 1/2 cup low sodium chicken broth
  • 1 can fire-roasted garlic tomatoes
  • 1/4 lb shrimp, peeled
  • pinch of black pepper
  • 1 green onion, chopped

Directions: Heat oil in a large pan.  Add chicken sausage, onion, red pepper, and garlic.  Cook for about 5 minutes then add in your quinoa so it’s coated.  Dump in can of tomatoes and chicken broth.  Bring to a boil, then let simmer for 10 minutes with lid on.  Then drop in your shrimp and black pepper and cook for about another 5-10 minutes.  Top with green onion when all done!  Enjoy! :)

 

Leave a Reply

