Chicken Squares! mmm mmm good!

Hey everyone,

So last night I made a new recipe, which I got from my brother Derek’s girlfriend Amanda.  She made these for our family once and I thought… hmm.. these are good and I think I could add some other stuff in them to mix up the flavors of them.  I didn’t do a lot of changes, just a few modifications.  Here is the original recipe that Amanda gave me:

Ingredients:

  •  3 oz cream cheese
  • 3 T margarine
  • 2 cups cooked/cubed chicken
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/8 pepper
  • 2 T milk
  • 1 T onion flakes or onion powder
  • 8 oz cresent rolls
  • crushed croutons

 

Here are the ingredients that I used:

  • 2 chicken breast cooked/cut up
  • 3 oz of cream cheese
  • 3 spoonfuls of pesto
  • small sprinkle of salt
  • some shakes of pepper
  • 2 T milk
  • 1 T onion flakes
  • 2-8 oz crescent rolls
  • crushed croutons
  • olive oil spray

Directions:  Cook chicken and chop/cut up beforehand.  Preheat oven to 350 F.  Then add chicken, cream cheese, pesto, salt, pepper, milk, and onion flakes all in a bowl.  Heat in microwave if needed to break up the cream cheese, I didn’t need to do this because my chicken was hot enough to melt the cream cheese down.  Open the crescent rolls up but do not pull all apart.  Instead, break into 4 squares and pinch seams that are perforated and make sure they are sealed nicely.  Then spoon a  big heap of chicken mix and fold corners up into the milk and press tightly.  Mine ended up making 7 squares/circles.  But really depends on how much chicken you have.  Then I sprayed them with olive oil on top and sprinkled croutons over them. Bake in oven for 20-25 minutes and Wahla! Done! Enjoy!

I think that these would be really yummy with buffalo sauce or sun-dried tomato pesto or bbq sauce inside them.  Might try them out with a few different ingredients inside. :)

Leave a Reply

