Tearing it up… well my hand that is!

Hey Everyone,

So today in CrossFit I was bound and determined to do the WOD without modifying my pull ups.  I want to learn how to kip and decided I was going to force myself to do them without a band.  The last few rounds were extremely frustrating but I finished it and I did modify a few at the beginning of the WOD, but then decided I could do them without.  I finished way behind everyone because the most I could do in a row were two, so it was a little embarrassing to finish way after everyone else.  But if I am determined to learn these and figured since there wasn’t high reps today it would be a good day to try!  I finished last and tore the crap out of my left hand, but I did it.  Definitely need to practice more that’s for sure.

Here was the WOD today:

Rounds with Reps of: 10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1

Box Jumps

Muscle Ups (substitute for muscle ups are pull ups and ring dips – not a single person did this portion unmodified)

Honestly, I don’t know my exact time, but I do know it was over 20 minutes and everyone else finished between 12-15 minutes. :(  Guess you got to start somewhere though.

Here are the WODs I haven’t posted about yet.

Last Friday we did a short WOD and then had open gym.

10 minute AMRAP of:

  • 5 deadlifts (95)
  • 10 hand release pushups
  • 15 box jumps

I think I finished with 207 for reps… I actually did pretty decent on this one when compared to others.  It felt nice to be good at something actually.  Deadlifts and box jumps are definitely a strong thing for me.  I don’t have great upper body strength, so need to continue to work on that. Along with my giant list of other things! :)

Saturday’s WOD was lovely one!  Lol.  It was a lot of reps of a lot of things!

This is what it entailed:

  • Run 800m
  • 35 knee to elbows
  • 40 wall balls
  • 3 rounds of: 5 pull ups, 10 hr pushups, 15 squats
  • 30 flat outs
  • 25 push press
  • 500m row
  • 100 situps
  • 50 double unders
  • 100 squats

Time: 42:01

Man was that a lot of reps… Seemed like it was never ending.  The first person was done in 25 minutes… Ridiculous.  I have a long ways to go!

Welp… It’s only Monday… Have a great rest of the week! :)

Leave a Reply

