Finally learning to kip!

Hey Everyone,

So I’m still continuing to do CrossFit and still loving every minute of it, even though I may complain about being sore or the WODs!  It definitely pushes the limits and makes me want to get better.  This week I finally did a WOD that had pull ups in it RX!!!! One of my first goals was to be able to start doing kipping pull ups so that I don’t have to modify and use a band.  I can’t do strict pull ups.. just not strong enough, so I was so happy when I completed the WOD on Monday without modifying them!  Yes, it definitely affected my time and took me forever because the first 30 reps of pull ups I was pretty much only getting one at a time, but then in the last 15 reps I was able to string together 3 in a row 3 times… which I was really happy about.  Just need to keep working on them and hopefully I will be able to do 15-20 reps in a row!  I hope anyway.  Then today I was very happy to complete the WOD RX too.  Seemed like a lot of people ended up modifying because the weight on the thrusters was too much.  Again… I definitely do not have the best times by any means but I would rather finish the WOD RX then modify to get my times faster.  Eventually my lungs will catch up and the times will come down.  Just have to be patient, especially since I’m not fully acclimated yet.  Oh, and now they’re starting to have open gym, which I am super psyched about, I have really been missing my heavy lifting so I’m going to go in and get some heavy deadlifts in today!  And then maybe work on some handstand pushups too.  Anyway… below are the WOD’s for the last week.

WOD: Tuesday, August 21 (Today!)

  • 100 Double Unders
  • 200m Farmers Carry (70/110lbs)

Then: 21-15-9

  • Thrusters (65/95lbs)
  • Burpees
  • HR Push Ups

Time: 29:34 rx

WOD: Monday, August 20

  • 800m Run
  • 30 KB Swings
  • 30 Pull Ups
  • 600m Run
  • 30 Wall Ball
  • 30 Box Jumps
  • 400m Run
  • 15 KB Swings
  • 15 Pull Ups
  • 15 Wall Ball
  • 15 Box Jumps
  • 200m Run

Time: 40??? rx

WOD: Friday, August 17

  • 800m run
  • 35 pullups (modified – used a band)
  • 30 ring push ups
  • 40 box split jumps
  • 500m row
  • 35 toes to bar
  • 35 burpees
  • 25 deadlifts (95/135lbs)
  • 35 double unders

Time: 39:35

WOD: Thursday, August 16

3 rounds of:

  • 12/12 pistol squats (used band to balance)
  • 30 split jumps
  • 20/20 sledge hammer
  • 30 sit ups

Time: 17:27

WOD: Wednesday, August 15

4 rounds of:

  • 400m run
  • 18/18 db snatches (20/40lbs)
  • 24 wall balls
  • 30 hand release pushups

Time: 37:03 rx

Leave a Reply

