Week 6 of CrossFit!

Hey everyone,

I know I’ve been falling behind a little bit on my blogging.  Can’t believe how time has flown by and I’ve already done 6 weeks worth of CrossFit!  It doesn’t seem like I’ve been out in Colorado even that long.  Things are still slowly progressing at CrossFit, but I keep tearing my hands up horribly so have given in to the idea of using a wrap when I do anything on the bar.  I’m just sick of having hands constantly hurting, pussing, and bleeding.  On a good note though I’ve been doing more and more WODs rx (unmodified).  My times still are not at all where I’d like them to be, but I would rather not modify and finish last.  Feel like I get a lot more out of it.  My kipping on the pull ups is feeling pretty good but I think the most I’ve stringed together is 5.  These definitely are slowing my times down whenever they are in a WOD so I need to step it up.  I also have been getting a lot better at handstand push ups.  I still struggle with depth, but I can kip about 4 or 5 out for normal depth, which I am happy about.  Just need to keep working on all the things I suck at!  Which is a lot… on my list for right now (I’m sure I’ll be adding more!) are kipping pull ups, HSPU, double unders, rope climbs, ring dips, and eventually muscle ups.  My goal is to eventual never have to do a WOD modified.  I know this will take some time, but I’ll get there.

WOD: Friday, August 31

15:00 AMRAP

  • 15 Burpee Box Jumps
  • 5/5 DB Snatch 20/40
  • 15 Ring Dips

Reps: 135

This WOD was… wow!  Definitely took my breath away!  Those damn burpies get me every time!

 

WOD: Thursday, August 30

  • 21 Thrusters 65/95

Then 3 Rounds of:

  • 21 Inverted Rows
  • 50 Air Squats
  • 20/20 Sledge Hammer

Time: 22:53 rx

This WOD was tougher than I thought it was going to be.  The thrusters weren’t bad because 65 lbs is pretty lightweight for me, but the inverted rows killed me!  Then later that day I went into open gym to squat.  Which was hard after 150 squats from the WOD but I was happy with hitting 145lbs for 3 sets of 3 reps.  It’s been a long time since I’ve squatted with weight.  Definitely not where I want to be weight wise but it’s a start.

 

WOD: Wednesday, August 29

10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1

  • Hand Release Push Ups
  • Pull Ups
  • Split Jumps
  • Sit Ups
  • Kettle Bell Swings

THEN:

  • 800m Run

Time: 33:07 rx

Again, pull ups kill my time because it takes me so long to do them.  And in this WOD I completely tore the skin off of both hands and off the palm of my right hand which just killed to do pull ups, but I got through them.  Definitely can improve on this time though!

 

WOD: Tuesday, August 28 

  • 20 Power Cleans 70/135

Then 3 Rounds of :

  • 15 Box Jumps
  • 10 HSPU
  • 15 SDHP 16kg/24kg

Time: 8:53

Today, I was the first person in my group done!!! That never happens to me.  The power clean were light so I flew through that and because the WOD was not a very long one my lungs never caught up with me like they normally do.  I always start off so strong in our WODs and then once my lungs catch up… I die!!!  And die so quickly!  I really need to push through the lung burn and not stop so much on WODs that are longer.

 

Well hope you all have a great rest of the week!  And Friday I’ll post the results from this week! :)

Leave a Reply

