Week 9 of CrossFit!

Hey everyone,

So I am back in Iowa til October 1st, which is so weird.  And since I don’t want to be completely out of shape when I get back I found a box in Ames called CrossFit West Ames to workout at.  I have really been missing strength training and this box does strength training stuff 3 days a week, which I love!  And after the first WOD I could tell a huge difference in my breathing.  I wasn’t very winded and thought I hadn’t tried hard enough, but then I realized nope it’s just the change in altitude.  It’s crazy how much a difference it makes!  I only made it to the box 4x this week, because I am so busy seeing friends and everything else.  And next week I’ll be all over the place so I’m hoping I can get there 3x next week.  But here was what our WOD were for the week:

 

WOD: Monday, September 17

1-1-1-1-1 Shoulder Press then…

14 min AMRAP of:

  • 1 bear complex (65/95) (clean + front squat + press + back squat + press = 1 bear complex)
  • 10 sit ups
  • 2 bear complexes
  • 10 sit ups
  • 3 bear complexes
  • 10 situps
  • 4 bear complexes
  • 10 situps
  • 5 bear complexes….

You get the picture… I completed 6 bear complexes plus 10 sit ups + another 6 bears.

 

WOD: Tuesday, September 18

Filthy Fifty:

  • 50 Box jump, 20/24 inch box
  • 50 Jumping pull-ups
  • 50 Kettlebell swings, 1 pood
  • Walking Lunge, 50 steps
  • 50 Knees to elbows
  • 50 Push press, 45 pounds
  • 50 Back extensions
  • 50 Wall ball shots, 14/20 pound ball
  • 50 Burpees
  • 50 Double unders

Time: 43 and something… Still not great but oh well.  Granted this box did it a little different than the box I did it at the first time but I improved by 12 minutes… not bad for my 9th week I would say.  At least I’m showing improvement.

 

WOD: Wednesday, September 19

1RM Deadlift – Hit 255lbs which I was very happy with for 5:30am… I normally can’t lift heavy at all early in the morning. Then split in any order you want…

  • 20 clean/jerk (95/135)
  • 80 sit ups
  • 40 wall balls (14/20)
  • 100 push ups

Time: just over 20 minutes.  This was harder than I was expecting, but it felt good once I was done!

 

WOD: Thursday, September 20

2 Rounds of:

  • 500m row
  • 5 rounds of 3 burpees and 3 broad jumps
  • 400m run
  • 5 rounds of 3 burpees and 3 broad jumps
  • 75 double unders (I was struggling with my double unders so I 225 singles)
  • 5 rounds of 3 burpees and 3 broad jumps

This WOD was hard!  And Tim (the owner) put a 45 minute cap on it.. Not going to lie I thought it was going to take me that long lol.  It ended up taking me I think 26:02 to do this.  It was definitely a good one.  But I realized this week that I really need to work on my double unders.  I feel like they have been getting worse as time has gone on.  I need some tips on how to get better at them. I do a single, then a double which takes forever!

Leave a Reply

