Week 10 of CrossFit!

Hey everyone,

Sadly, I was traveling all over the place and was only able to make time to get to the CrossFit West Ames box 3 times this week!  But I’ll take that over being a lazy butt and not getting any workouts in.  Since I’m back in Iowa I have been trying to spend a lot of time with friends and family because I know I won’t be back for quite some time!  So this weekend before this week I went up north (Clear Lake, IA) to babysit my adorable 9 month old niece Brynn.  She is so cute and she has perfect squat form.  Makes me jealous. lol.  She’s the reason why I didn’t make it back to Ames to WOD on Monday, but seeing her made it worth missing a workout!

WOD: Tuesday, September 25th

Max height on jump boxes – I got 33 inches.. don’t know if this is any good or not but it was the highest for the girls in the class I attended this morning

Then… 3 rounds of:

  • 800m Run
  • 15 bar to chest pull ups
  • 25 ab rollouts

Time: 26ish… Can’t get my chest all the way to the bar just yet on the pull ups, still working on getting better at pull ups in general.  I was linking about 5 together at a time until I got super tired in the last round.

 

WOD: Wednesday, September 26

5-5-5-5-5 Back Squats (95, 115, 135, 145, 155) then…

  • 14 kb swings
  • 1 burpee
  • 13 kb swings
  • 2 burpees
  • 12 kb swings
  • 3 burpees
  • 11 kb swings
  • 4 burpees
  • 10 kb swings
  • 5 burpees etc…. til
  • 1 kb swing
  • 14 burpees

Time: 21ish… wow this was much harder than I anticipated.  Damn!

 

WOD: Thursday, September 27th

4 rounds of:

  • 3 rope climbs (if modified 21 pull ups)
  • 30 push ups
  • 30 sit ups

Time: 26-28ish minutes (not really sure)

So when I looked I didn’t know what to think.  I have never done rope climbs and also didn’t have long socks or the proper shoes to do this (vibrams don’t grip very well).  But they really wanted everyone to try it out.  They said it was okay if you couldn’t make it to the top, but at least work on re-gripping and getting as far as you could with three re-grips.  I did make it up almost 3/4 of the way one time but sadly I never made it to the top and opted for the pull ups a few times which sucked!  And now I have this amazing wound on my shin that everyone has been commenting on.  I was in a wedding this past weekend and thank goodness that the dresses were long otherwise I would have been getting lots of stares.  Today when I walked into CrossFit back in Arvada, Keith (our coach) immediately thought that I had gotten a chile pepper tattoo on my leg.  Yes, the wound is that vibrant red!  Oh well, what can you do.  Got to love how pretty CrossFit makes you! :)

Leave a Reply

