Week 20 of CrossFit!

Indomitable Will

So this week was tough!!!  We did a bunch of benchmark stuff and really taxed out my body.  I have some lovely tore up hands and bruises/scabs on my collar bone/chest region to show for it!  It was a fun week though, even though I felt beat up by the end of it.  Here is what it entailed:

 

WOD: Monday, December 10 

“Fran” 21-15-9

  • Thrusters 95/65
  • Pull Ups

Time: 13:29 rx      I beat my previous time by about 30 seconds.  I really am slow at my pull ups.  I still need to learn to butterfly.  I’ve been told it’s hard on your shoulders, but I think my shoulders are tough enough to handle it.  I think if I could get my pull ups down, or at least more linked together I would cut down a ton of time in this.

Then 500m row: 2:09   Nothing impressive.  I’m not much of a rower, not super slow or fast, just average.

 

WOD: Tuesday, December 11

“Annie” 50-40-30-20-10 of:

  • Double Unders
  • Sit Ups

Time: 11:09 rx   I was really happy with this time, because normally I suck at double unders and I actually did them pretty well this day.  I still have a single between my doubles that I need to remove.

Strength WOD: “Linda”

10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 of:

  • 1.5x bodyweight deadlift (210 lbs)
  • bodyweight bench press (138lbs)
  • 75% clean (105 lbs)

I modified the bench press to 65% so 90lbs… And ended up dropping to 205 in the deadlift on 9 reps and down to 95 lbs on clean at rep 7.  And I only got through 7 reps in 42 minutes… then the next class came in to workout… So I failed miserably at Linda.  My thoughts are that I’m going to drop down all the weight and get through the whole thing in a reasonable time then slowly keep bumping up the weight.  I don’t know that I will ever be able to bench press my bodyweight for 55 reps, but we’ll see how it progresses.  This WOD absolutely tore up my hands though and really taxed my body!!

 

WOD: Wednesday, December 12

“Murph”

  • 1600m Run
  • 100 pull ups
  • 200 HR Push Ups
  • 300 Squats
  • 1600m Run

Time: 75:53 rx  So this wod kicked my ass and I did horrible at it.  I was sooo sore from attempting Linda and my hands were all torn up that my pull ups took me almost 30 minutes to complete… which really affected my time!!!  Surprisingly I thought the 2 miles of running was the best part of this wod, which is weird since I HATE running!  I hope to never do this wod again.  Lol.

 

WOD: Thursday, December 13

10:00 AMRAP:

  • 5 Box Jumps
  • 10 Ring Dips
  • 15 KB Swings

Reps: 98 rx  I am really trying to focus on learning to do ring dips correctly.  So that is why my reps are so low!  I really have been trying to do them without a band which I really can only do one rep at a time so it takes me forever!  This wod was nice after the ferocious “Murph”.

 

WOD: Friday, December 14

3 Rounds of:
W =70% of BW (100lbs) / M=80% of BW

  • 5 Deadlift
  • 7 Power Cleans
  • 9 Push Press

Time: 18:30 rx  So our box coach was writing people names on the board before the wod started and he only put Luke’s name in red which means rx… Immediately I got upset and was like seriously… is he saying I can’t do this wod rx… So I decided no matter what the weight was I was going to do it!  So I did!  100lbs I can press, but I was a little hesitant on being able to press it 27 times!  But I finished with rx and proved him wrong.  I felt good about it.  Especially with my bloody sore hands and sore body.  

Deadlift 1 rep max: 265lbs  I wasn’t happy or mad about this lift.  I was pretty beat up from the week so wasn’t expecting anything great, but still would have loved to seen a pr.  What can you do though.  Later that evening we had a crossfit get-together and I found out that one woman beat my deadlift because she added 2.5 lbs to one side.  I wasn’t very happy about it, but oh well.  I’ll beat her number next time. :)

 

Leave a Reply

