Colorado Chile Enchiladas

chili colorado burrito close

So I’ve been pinning all sorts of yummy looking recipes on pinterest and found one that looked simple and delicious “Colorado Chile Burritos”.  After making these, I would say that they are more of an enchilada than a burrito because there is no rice in them.  They were done in the crock pot, which made the recipe really easy, but the sauce wasn’t quite what I was expecting and it was a tad spicy for me. I think I would do the sauce differently next time, but the concept of doing the sauce and meat in the crockpot is a great idea!  I think it’s worth trying though, maybe you’ll enjoy it more than I did.  I did modify the recipe slightly, so here is the original!

Ingredients:

  • 1.5- 2 lbs of meat (stew meat or I used sirloin, it shredded really nicely)
  • 1 large can of red enchilada sauce
  • 2 beef bouillon cubes
  • 1 can black beans (drained/rinsed)
  • tortillas
  • shredded cheese
  • green onions

Directions:  In a crock pot put the meat, sauce, black beans, and bouillon cubes.  Cook on low for 7-8 hours.  Then when ready make sure meat is shredded and get out the tortillas.  Scoop up meat and beans and place on the tortillas and roll em up and place in a glass pan.  Then take leftover sauce in crockpot and spread over the rolled up tortillas.  Cover with cheese and chopped up green onions.  Then broil for about 5 minutes or until cheese is melted.  Like I said, super easy, but I think next time I’ll make it with a different sauce!

Leave a Reply

