Good Distractions!

photo-6

So this past week I slacked a little bit on my workouts…  I had a friend, Emily, come into town so I was a little preoccupied making sure I got my work done and entertaining her!  One exciting thing that happened during the week was the announcement of CrossFit Open 13.3.  Well maybe I shouldn’t say exciting once I found out what it was.  But it was here in Boulder, CO!  So we got a car load of people together and ventured there Wednesday night to be there for the LIVE ANNOUNCEMENT!  Kristin Clever and Talayna Fortunato went head to head, which was amazing to watch and very humbling.  Even Biggest Loser’s Bob Harper came and joined the party.  It was a pretty exciting event.  Oh, and the mc for the evening was… dom dom dom…. World Arm Wrestling Champion Travis Bagent.  Which I’m sure 99% of the people there had no clue who he was.  Over all it was a ton of fun to be a part of it all.

A few of my other distractions included taking Emily on a New Belgium Brewery tour and Stranahan’s Whiskey Distillery Tour.  Colorado is known for their craft/microbrews so I figured she had to get some of that.  New Belgium has such a fun tour and I have yet to do a beer/liquor tour that’s better.  We also checked out Cooper Smith’s Pub and Odell’s in Fort Collins.  I think she enjoyed all the brews. :)  Maybe a little too much. Lol.  And since we’re both whiskey fans it only felt suitable to go to a whiskey distillery too!

photo-5

Another amazing distraction that I took her to was the Red Rocks!  They are always beautiful and it was a great short morning hike of a 1.4 mile loop.  Of course we had to walk up to the amphitheater while we were there too!  It’s amazing the view you get of downtown while you’re watching concerts there.

Another focus of the weekend was to take her to all our favorite restaurants… this included Beau Jos pizza, Tequilas, Tea Garden, and Parisi.  I hope she enjoyed them as they are some of our favorites that we always go to!  We also had to get some shopping in so we went to the amazing REI that is in the old tramway station in Denver and of course to the 16th Street Mall where we hit up my favorite bookstore, The Tattered Cover and one of my favorite clothing stores, H&M!  Overall, it was a great time and enjoyed taking her around.  I crammed in as much as I could with what hours we had!

As always here is what my lazy CrossFit workouts were for the past week:

WOD: Monday, March 18

18:00 AMRAP:

  • 30 Double Unders
  • 10 KB Thrusters 16kg/24kg
  • 12 Toe To Bar
  • 3 HSPU
  • 200m Run

Reps: 228 rx  A little sluggish after playing soccer the day before.  It’s amazing how draining it is to play a competitive sport again.  Definitely need to work on my endurance oh and kicking, cuz I whift it all the time when playing. Lol.

WOD: Wednesday, March 20

12:00 AMRAP:
2:00 Planks
With time remaining

  • 9 Power Cleans 65/95
  • 12 SDHP 16kg/24/kg
  • 15 Squats

Reps: 151 rx  Was slow today!  Oh well.. get past it!

WOD: Thursday, March 21  “13.1”

12:00 AMRAP:

  • 150 Wallball
  • 90 Double Unders
  • 30 Muscle Ups

Reps: 108 rx   :'(  I bombed it hardcore.  I hate wallball and always get in my head.  I heard 2 minutes left and was at 100 reps and mentally just gave up.  I need to stop doing that and push through.

Like I said… was a bad week for CrossFit for me.. but a great week for distractions and time with good friends!  And enjoying life is more important than a couple crappy workouts!

Leave a Reply

