CrossFit Benchmark HELL!

Games2012_Women_HSPU

Hey everyone,

Now that the CrossFit Open is over our box has decided to redo all the benchmark wods over the next few weeks!  Can you say heck yes!  NOT!  I would prefer to refer to these next few weeks as Benchmark HELL!  But I guess it’s a time to reflect on our progress and see if we’ve made any changes, right?  More like hurt for days upon days!  Which I have been feeling like a grandma walking around.  I thought in my 20s I was suppose to be in my best shape of my life?  Maybe I was wrong. Lol.  Anyway here’s what the last two weeks of hell have looked like!

WOD: Monday, April 8

15:00 AMRAP:

  • 9 Deadlift 100/ 155
  • 12 HR Push Ups
  • 15 Box Jumps

Reps: 273 rx

Then 500 meter row: 2:00.9  I am not a good rower as you can see by my time. :(

WOD: Tuesday, April 9

3 Rounds of:
15 Bar Over Burpees
10 Overhead Squats 65 lbs – was suppose to be 45 lbs, but might as well make it difficult. :)
15 Pull Ups

Time: 18:37rx2

WOD: Wednesday, April 10

  • 100 Double Unders
  • 75 Squats
  • 50 Sit Ups
  • 25 Toe To Bar

Time: 12:09 rx  It was crazy how difficult two to bar were after 50 situps… The last five I started failing and didn’t know if I would finish

Then squat clean/front squat EMOM for 7 minutes at 105lbs  – should’ve done more weight… was definitely too light, but now I know for next time.

WOD: Thursday, April 11

18:00 AMRAP:

  • 5 Man Makers 20/30
  • 10 Pull Ups
  • 15 Wall Ball

Reps: 90 rx  Holy balls I sucked hardcore today!  I am horrible at all three of these implements and it showed.  Better get to work eh?

WOD: Friday, April 12 – Skiing at A-Basin – very good/fun workout!

WOD: Saturday April 13: Partner WODs

  • 3 Sled push – both go
  • 1 Rope Climb – 200m Run
  • 100 Squats – dead hang
  • 70 pull ups – plank
  • 500m row – 40om run
  • 75 push ups – dead hang
  • 75 box jumps – Burpees
  • 75 wall ball – Burpees
  • 100 Double Unders – plank
  • 800m run 25lb – both go

Time: 38:41 rx  My partner was Steve A and he definitely held our team!  Don’t know what I would’ve done without him, he kicked ass!

WOD: Monday, April 15

55/80 rx2; 80/115 rx

10 Strict Press
15 Overhead Squats
20 Push Press
25 Front Squats
30 Push Jerk
35 Back Squats

Time: 26:13 rx2  Did 80 lbs on everything except the strict press.  I just couldn’t get it locked out with not using my momentum.  I’ve always been bad at strict pressing.

WOD: Tuesday, April 16 “Filthy Fifty”

  • 50 Box jumps
  • 50 Jumping Pull Ups
  • 50 Kettlebell Swings 16kg
  • 50 Walking Lunges
  • 50 Knees to elbows
  • 50 Push Press 45lbs
  • 50 Hip Ext
  • 50 Wall Ball 14/20
  • 50 Burpees
  • 50 Double Unders

Time: 43:53 rx  I know, what a horrible time.  I always suck it up at the long ones.  Can only go up from here, right? :)

WOD: Wednesday, April 17 “Diane”

21-15-9

  • Deadlift 155/225
  • HSPU – to floor

Time: 15:31 rx  We normally use abmats for HSPU and how does an inch or two make a huge difference in handstand pushups.  I really struggled on my last 9!

WOD: Thursday, April 18

15:00 AMRAP:

  • 6 Pistol Squats
  • 15 DB Floor Press 20+/40+
  • 25 Sit Ups

Reps: 144  I used 40 lbs dumbbells for this WOD.  He said to go heavy, so I did!  Didn’t get a ton of rounds, but so close to getting my pistol squats rx now… which I never thought I would be able to do!

WOD: Friday, April 19 “Murph” 60 minute AMRAP

  • 1 mile Run
  • 100 Pull-Ups
  • 200 Push-Ups
  • 300 Body Weight Squats
  • 1 Mile Run

Time: 67:03 rx… Not sure if this is right or not, but close to what it was.  Last time we did Murph it took me 75:53… so I would say I’ve improved a tad, but not a ton.  I am not a runner. That is all I will say.  Oh and I HATE MURPH!

Next two weeks more BENCHMARK HELL, can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

