Southwest Chicken Wrap

photo-9

If you have followed any of my previous recipes I have blogged it is no surprise that I am a fan of southwest recipes.  I just always love black beans, corn, and those type of seasonings in my food!  So I found this recipe on Pinterest a while ago, but hadn’t decided til recently that I needed to make it.  I needed to try a new recipe so I went through my yummy recipe board and sure enough this caught my eye immediately!  For the original recipe please click here!  I tend to change a couple things here and there when I cook just depending on what I like or what my husband likes.  This time I was nice enough to leave out the onions because I know how much my husband hates them and I tend to cook a lot with them because I love them!  So I figured he deserved a break from onions… for one night anyway! :)

Ingredients:

  • cooked shredded chicken (however you prefer to do this)
  • 1 cup of quinoa (original recipe calls for rice, but I always substitute rice with quinoa)
  • 1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 red pepper, chopped
  • fresh cilantro, chopped
  • juice of 1 lime (I have a bottle of lime juice in the fridge so used that instead)
  • 1/2 TBSP of chili pepper
  • pinch of cumin
  • pinch of garlic salt
  • 1 tsp Southwest Seasoning (Penzey is what I used)
  • shredded cheese of your choice
  • greek yogurt (optional)  use this instead of sour cream
  • wheat tortillas

Directions: Cook the chicken and shred it.  Then make quinoa as directed on package.  While that’s cooking chop up your cilantro and pepper.  Then in another bowl pour your quinoa once cooked and beans, pepper, cilantro, seasonings, and lime juice into bowl and stir.  Then heat a skillet/pan on low and spray with a little oil.  Put all quinoa mix , chicken, cheese, and greek yogurt into tortilla and fold up. Place tortilla in pan with seam down and cook about 2-3 each side til tortilla is nice and crispy.  Then devour! :D  Super yummy and if there’s only two of you, you will have plenty of leftovers for lunch the rest of the week!  Hope you all try this!

Leave a Reply

