Week 1: Jackal’s Gym Program

2012MissouriDL

Since we were back in Iowa last week I thought it would be a good time to start back up my powerlifting program that I have from Brad Gillingham at  Jackal’s Gym.  I am very fortunate to have Brad, such an amazing/accomplished powerlifter, to provide me with a program.  It is from watching him, Bryan Dermody and others compete in the deadlift at the Arnold Classic that really got me interested in trying powerlifting.  I am not by any means amazing, but I enjoy it so much, which is what matters most to me.

The program consists of 3 lifting days: deadlift, bench press, and squat.  Not going to lie… it was a tough week and I can tell I haven’t lifted like this in a while!  But it felt so good to get back at it and I’m hoping that I can keep it up with my CrossFit too.  I know it will take a lot of time and I’m going to be sore, but I think it will be well worth it in the end.

Here is what my workouts entailed last week:

Tuesday, July 23 “Deadlift Day”

  • Hang clean 3×3 @ 85 lbs
  • Front squat 2×5 @ 95 lbs
  • Deadlift 2×5 @ 200 lbs
  • DB Row 3×5 @ 50 lbs
  • Pullups 3×10

Metcon: 5 Rounds of:

  • 20 medball situps @ 20lbs
  • 20 back extensions
  • 20 double unders

Wednesday, July 24 “Bench Day”

  • Bench Warmup to a single rep (single @ 125 lbs)
  • Bench 105 lbs x4x2, 105lbs x3, 95lbs x2, 95lbs x5x2
  • Front raises 3×5 @ 15 lbs then side raises/back raises 3×5 @ 10 lbs
  • (instead of all the assisted lifts, we decided to put them all into a metcon to get some cardio in)

Metcon – 3 Rounds of:

  • 10 dips (did on a bench because tweaked something in my pec)
  • 10 chinups
  • 25 double unders
  • 10 DB snatch @ 30 lbs

Friday, July 26 “Squat Day”

  • Squat 5×5 @ 125 lbs (dropped down the weight a bit since I haven’t back squatted in a long time)
  • Light Bench – DB bench press 3×8 @ 35 lbs each
  • Shoulder press 3×5 @ 30 lbs each
  • Leg curls 3×10 @ 70 lbs

Emom for 5 minutes:

  • 3 Clean/Jerk @ 105 lbs

Overall, it was a hard week and quite an adjustment, but it felt great to focus on my lifting again.  Hopefully we can keep this going! :)

 

Leave a Reply

