Southwest Egg Rolls

SWeggrolls

I have been wanting to try making egg rolls for a while now and have seen many yummy looking recipes.  I finally gave in and found a recipe on Pinterest here!  I don’t like making a meal though without a good source of protein so I added chicken to the recipe.  While this did take some time to make these, it was definitely worth it and it made a ton!  I paired these lovely egg rolls with my southwest quinoa salad, it was great!

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 chicken breast, cooked/shredded or cut into small cubes
  • 2 cups of corn
  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 (10 oz) package of frozen spinach *I recommend doing fresh spinach… the frozen stuff takes forever to dry out and if you’re like me I do not like the texture of it after it’s been frozen
  • 1 red pepper, chopped (I didn’t use this but think it would be good in there)
  • 2 cups mexican cheese blend
  • 4 green onions, chopped
  • 4 oz can of green chiles, drained
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • pinch of cayenne pepper
  • pinch of salt
  • pinch of pepper
  • 1 package of egg rolls (found in the produce section by the tofu normally)

Directions:  Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Combine and mix all of the above ingredients in a bowl besides the egg rolls.  Then scoop about 1/4 cup of mixture onto egg roll and roll up.  Make sure to look up directions on rolling egg rolls, cause if you’re a dumb dumb like me you don’t know how. :)  Some places say you need to put egg on the outside of the egg roll and pinch the corner, but I didn’t do this and they turned out just fine.  Spritz with a little dusting of olive oil on top and pop them in the for 15 minutes (flip half way through).  Then wahla… muy caliente y rico!  If you please dip these bad boys in some salsa or greek yogurt.  Enjoy! :D

SWeggrolls2

Leave a Reply

