Did you say… Chicken Nuggets and Fries?

photo-25

Hey Everyone,

When I’m trying to eat clean one of my favorite go to recipes is healthy chicken nuggets!  I know… how can chicken nuggets be healthy, but you’ll see why in a minute.  And then I pair them up with healthy sweet potato fries and it almost feels like you’re eating fast food, but without the guilt and  bloated feeling afterwards! Trust me, if you’re trying to lose weight or simply just eat better this will definitely  help your cravings for fast food!

Healthy Nuggets:

Ingredients:

  • chicken breast (I usually do 2-3 depending on how many leftovers I want, but I also am cooking for two people)
  • egg (optional)
  • almond flour
  • spices: I use paprika, garlic, rosemary, italian, but any you prefer will work

Directions: Preheat oven to 375. Cut up your chicken breast into small chunks/nuggets.  Then I normally take a wooden spoon and beat them so that they are flatter and all about the same thickness.  Helps with cooking.  Fill a bowl with almond flour and any seasonings you want with it and mix.  Then you can either dip the nuggets in a beaten up egg or water.  Either will work.  Dip once in liquid and then into bowl of flour/seasonings.  Then put em on a baking sheet and toss in the oven.  I would say about 8 minutes per side depending on your oven.  Then take em out and enjoy them with your fav dipping sauce!  But remember if you’re trying to be healthy, don’t go too crazy with the dipping sauce. :)

 

Sweet Potato Fries

Ingredients:

  • sweet potatoes
  • oil (try not to use vegetable or canola, stick to something healthier like olive oil)
  • seasonings (again use whatever you prefer: I like paprika and garlic on mine)

Directions: Preheat oven to 375.  Peel your potatoes.  If you feeding for just two one sweet potato is plenty.  Then cut up potato into long silvers.  Place on a cooking sheet and drizzle with oil.  Then add seasonings.  Pop it in the oven for 10-12 minutes.. then flip them.  Another 10-12 minutes and I like to finish them off with a broil because I like them more crisp.

Hope you all give these a try and enjoy them. :)

Leave a Reply

