Paleo Mongolian Beef

MongolianBeef

Photo from: Paleo Cupboard

The 30 days of strict paleo continues and it’s been interesting experimenting with new recipes!  I have found the hardest thing with cooking paleo is doing different sauces.  It’s hard to make sauces that have a good consistency, especially when using things like arrowroot and honey to make them.  Just have to pay special attention when cooking those items I have found.  But overall, I still am feeling much better than I have in the past and this is probably the longest I have gone without having an upset stomach that was followed by hours in the bathroom.  So I would have to say that obviously something is working with this diet and my body didn’t respond well to whatever I was eating before.  Anyway… I have been trying a lot of recipes from Paleo Cupboard and found many that I like and today I’m sharing her mongolian beef recipe!  This definitively didn’t taste exactly like mongolian beef that you get at a Chinese restaurant, but it was definitely delicious and a recipe I will continue to go to.  The sauce is a tad on the sweeter side, but I like that since I can’t handle spicy.  Hope you all give this a try sometime!

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb of flank steak, cut into small strips
  • 3 TBSP arrowroot powder
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground pepper
  • 1 TBSP lard or bacon fat (I used coconut oil because bacon fat and lard just gross me out)
  • 1 TBSP garlic
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • 1 TBSP sesame oil
  • 1/2 cup of beef broth
  • 1/3 cup of honey
  • 1/2 cup of coconut aminos (new favorite item to have on hand)
  • veggies (we used mushrooms and broccoli)

Directions: Cut up the steak into smaller pieces.  In a bowl mix arrowroot with salt and pepper.  Then coat each side of steak with the powder and lay on cookie rack to dry for 10-15 minutes.  Then in another pan put some coconut oil and throw in the garlic, ginger, sesame oil, coconut amines, and broth.  Slowly add in honey and make sure you’re stirring frequently!  Then in another pan add more coconut oil or lard (or oil/grease of choice) and then cook the steak on each side til it’s nice and crispy!  Then I added the veggies into the sauce and when all the steak was done I added that into the pan of sauce and veggies! Then dish up and enjoy!  It was sooo delicious!  Click here to read the full original recipe from Paleo Cupboard!  Hope you all enjoy!  :)

Leave a Reply

