Shrimp Fried Cauliflower? Yes cauliflower!

paleofriedrice

Hey everyone,

The journey of finding “paleo” recipes continues.  Seriously, check out Paleo Cupboard for some great inspiration!  A week ago I decided that fried rice sounded delicious, so I searched for a substitute for the rice.  I have heard of people using cauliflower instead of rice before and thought gosh that really doesn’t sound good!  I had done cauliflower crust before for pizza and didn’t wasn’t really a fan, but I figured I best give it a go!  My expectations were low going in but oh my this dish exceeded my expectations by a land slide that I’m going to be making a mexican “rice” tomorrow night out of cauliflower!  Crazy right.  For those that are sensitive or allergic to rice I hope you try this out sometime.  Or if you simple want a healthier version give this a go.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb of shrimp, thawed
  • 1 head of cauliflower (could probably do half if you’re cooking for two and don’t want a ton of leftovers)
  • 4 TBSP of coconut oil, split (recipe says to use lard, but I prefer this option)
  • carrots, chopped
  • water chestnuts
  • onion, chopped (didn’t use since my husband hates onions)
  • garlic, chopped
  • peas
  • green onions, chopped
  • 4 eggs, whisked
  • 6 TBSP of coconut aminos
  • 1/2 tsp of sesame oil
  • 1/2 tsp fish sauce
  • pepper/salt
  • any other veggies you want to include feel free, we added some peppers too

Directions: Prep all your veggies/chop ’em up! Grate/food process your cauliflower.  This is a tad time consuming so I apologize for you impatient ones! Put a wok or big fry pan on medium, add some coconut oil.  Then toss in your veggies and garlic.  Saute for 3 minutes then set aside in a bowl.  Next add whisked eggs to pan/wok and fry em up.  Feel free to add some salt and pepper to ’em.  Then toss them in the bowl with the veggies.  Add 2 more TBSP of coconut oil to pan and throw in the riced cauliflower.  Allow to cook up to 7 minutes or as crispy as you would like.  Then add back in your eggs and veggies and add the shrimp to the mix!  Lastly add in the sesame oil, fish sauce, and coconut aminos!  Then wahla!  Enjoy with pleasure. :P

Like I said this does make a lot, so if you aren’t cooking for many and don’t want leftovers I would half it!  Hope you all give it a go!  Recipes coming soon: shredded coconut blueberry muffins remix, kung pao chicken, mexican rice, and more!  :)

One thought on “Shrimp Fried Cauliflower? Yes cauliflower!

  1. Pingback: Shrimp Fried Cauliflower? Yes cauliflower! | Paleo Recipe Books

Leave a Reply

