Paleo Kung Pao Chicken

Kung Pao Chicken Photo via PaleoCupboard.com

Hey Everyone,

I know, I have been a slacker and now I’m going to get back to the grind of posting weekly on here.  I have been so busy with my brother’s wedding, new niece being born, putting down our precious dog Gabe and so much more.  But I am back to share what recipes I have been trying in the last two months, especially after doing a 30 day paleo reset.  As I had said before, I was so against the idea of a “Paleo” diet.  It never made much sense to me and I thought all the rules were ridiculous and impossible.  But now, after doing 30 days of it, I realize that it can be beneficial for people.  Throughout the process I learned unfortunately that I definitely do have a sensitivity to dairy.  Granted, I still will indulge a bit on it every once in a while… let’s be real ice cream is the most delicious thing in the world, but I have cut back a lot of cheese, milk, etc.. And have noticed a big difference in my stomach issues.  I also don’t eat as many complex carbs as I use to, I don’t think I am intolerant to gluten, but I do think that I have an issue with portion control when eating it and always end up feeling bloated.  So I have continued to try a lot of paleo recipes and think that I will try to stick to a paleo diet for the most part.  Anyway… one recipe that I tried a while back from The Paleo Cupboard was kung pao chicken.  I will say, this was not my favorite recipe in particular, but my husband did thoroughly enjoy so I would say it’s worth a shot.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb chicken (says to use thighs, but I have never been a fan of thighs and use breasts instead)
  • sea salt
  • black pepper
  • 2 tsp arrowroot powder (can in the health section of your store or baking aisle)
  • 2 tsp sesame oil
  • 3 TBSP coconut aminos (great substitute for soy sauce anytime)
  • 2 tsp raw honey
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1 TBSP lard or I used coconut oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/3 cup raw cashews

Directions:  Start by making the sauce… Grab a smaller pan, add arrowroot, sesame oil, and coconut amines and stir.  Then add in honey and ginger and place over medium heat and bring to a light boil.  I will warn you, I could not get a good consistency and I tried starting over and ended up with this very thick glob of stuff, which was very frustrating to me cuz I’m a super freak with textures!  You have to keep stirring frequently and then remove from heat and set aside.  In a larger skillet melt your fat or choice (butter, oil, etc.) and then put in your minced garlic for a bit.  Add in your chopped up chicken and cook 3-5 minutes or until chicken is browned and cooked through.  Then combine it all together and add chopped cashews to the top.  It really didn’t take long to do and I thought it was okay, but like I said my husband really enjoyed it!

For the full recipe please find it at the Paleo Cupboard website here.  

 

Leave a Reply

