Mexican Cauliflower Rice, yes I said cauliflower!

photo-32

Hey You All!

Hope everyone is doing well.  So I’m trying oh so much to eat more vegetables.  Let’s be real, I don’t know that many people that just love oodles and oodles of veggies, I know I have a select amount I eat and it can be hard to get enough.  I have found that making “rice” from cauliflower has been a great way for me to eat more veggies without just hating every minute of it.  I tried this amazing mexican cauliflower “rice” recipe from Paleo Cupboard and it is so yummy!

Ingredients:

  • 1 head of cauliflower, riced (I used a food processor to rice it)
  • 2 TBSP coconut oil (original recipe says bacon lard)
  • 1 white onion, chopped (left out cause husband hates onion)
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 cup tomato paste
  • 1/4 chopped cilantro
  • 1 large tomato, chopped
  • 2 limes quartered (actually added in lime juice instead)

Directions:  First get the cauliflower “riced”.  Break up cauliflower into small florets and put through the food processor.  Then heat a pan with coconut oil to medium-high.  Add onion and garlic and sauté for a couple minutes.  Then add cauliflower to the pan and stir.  Add in all the seasonings and cook for another 2-3 minutes.  Next add the tomato paste, cilantro, and tomato and lime juice if you decide to go that route over real limes.  Stir the dish until all the liquid gets absorbed.  Then wahla… ready to eat!  I will warn you if you are a big ole’ pansy like me when it comes to spices… don’t add all the cumin!  Hope you all give this a try and enjoy it! I served it with a taco salad and it was delicious!  :D

Leave a Reply

