Primal Italian Style: Chicken Parmesan

photo-33

Hey everyone,

I have always been a big fan of Italian dishes and I have a marinara sauce I made that is absolutely delicious! Try it here! But I decided it was time to try a new Italian dish and since I sadly have never made chicken parmesan I found a wonderful recipe to try on Stupid Easy Paleo.  It was sooo good and made a lot so I got to enjoy this dish for multiple lunches in a row!

Ingredients:

  • 8 TBSP coconut oil, divided
  • 1 red onion (ended up sautéing this separately since my husband hates onion)
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2-28 oz can of tomato puree – could probably just do one if you don’t want a ton of sauce
  • 16 oz of crushed tomatoes
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • 1 tsp rosemary
  • 4 tsp oregano, divided
  • 1 tsp of crushed red pepper (I did a little less since I don’t do well with spicy stuff)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup of water
  • 2 lbs of chicken breasts (original recipe uses thighs)
  • 1.5 cups of almond flour
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 TBSP butter
  • 2 tsp onion powder
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • Mozzarella cheese (optional)

Directions:  To make the sauce get out a big sauce pan and add in 2 TBSP of coconut oil and throw onions and garlic in.  Saute for about 4 minutes.  Then add in the rest of sauce ingredients which is: tomato puree, tomatoes, salt, water, parsley, rosemary, and 2 tsp oregano.  Mix well and bring to a boil.  Then once to a boil reduce heat to low and let simmer for 30 minutes.  Now preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Then I cut my chicken breasts in half or approximately what I wanted one serving size of chicken to be.  In a bowl mix the almond flour, onion powder, garlic powder, and the rest of remaining oregano.  In another bowl whisk eggs.  Then dip chucks of chicken into the egg and then into the almond flour/seasoning mix.  Then place in another frying pan that has melted coconut oil or butter.  Fry all the chicken till it’s golden brown.  Once all cooked add chicken into the sauce pan.  Put into the oven for 5-10 minutes and then take out and top with mozzarella if you like and place back in oven til mozzarella is melted and to your liking.  Then I put this over spaghetti squash for myself and normal spaghetti for my husband.  It is so delicious and the leftovers are just as good!  Hope you guys enjoy this dish! :)

Leave a Reply

