Comfort Foods Redone: Nuggets & Fries

photo-34 photo-35

Hey Everyone,

I don’t know about you, but I know I always have my staples that I crave like mac & cheese, chicken nuggets, french fries, and pizza.  In my opinion depriving yourself completely of these things is not healthy because at some point you’re going to fall off the clean wagon and over indulge in these type of things.  I’m not saying that I haven’t done that ever, cause trust me I have!  Once you get off track it can be hard to get back on.  But you can always recreate those comfort foods and make them a little healthier so you’re not breaking the bank so to speak when you have them!  Below you’ll see my remake of buffalo chicken nuggets (readjusted the recipe from Stupid Easy Paleo) and sweet potato fries/chips!  Hope you all enjoy!

Buffalo Chicken Nugget Ingredients:

  • 1 lb of chicken breasts, cut into strips or nuggets
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 TBSP apple cider vinegar
  • 1 TBSP lemon juice
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp onion powder
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp of Adobe seasoning from Penzey’s
  • a dash of crushed red pepper (use more if you like spicy, I can only handle mild)
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 2ish cups of almond flour

Directions:  First prep chicken and cut into strips or nuggets.  Can pound meat down so it’s all about the same thickness if needed.  Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  In a small/medium bowl whisk eggs, apple cider vinegar, lemon, garlic, onion, paprika, adobe, red pepper, and salt.  In another bowl pour 1 cup of almond flour.  Dip your chicken in the liquid bowl then coat with the almond flour.  Lay onto parchment paper on a metal sheet and bake for about 25 minutes.  I also like to broil them the last minute or so to make them crispy.  Serve with your favorite sauce.

 

Sweet Potato Chips Ingredients:

  • 1-3 sweet potatoes, sliced thin. (depends how many you are cooking for… I have found 1 potato is appropriate for 2 ppl)
  • oil (coconut, butter, olive, whatever you like to use… aerosol tends to be the easiest, but not the healthiest option)
  • paprika
  • garlic powder
  • pepper
  • salt

Directions:  Preheat your oven anywhere from 350 to 400 depending on how fast you want to cook them.  I normally do 375, but if I’m cooking the nuggets above then I use 400.  First I put tin foil down on a metal baking sheet, helps so it doesn’t stick.  Then spread oil over the bottom of pan, very thin layer!  Wash your potatoes and slice them very thin like chips.  Spread them evenly over the pan, sometimes I have to stack them a little, but try not to stack too many on top of each other.  Then coat with oil and sprinkle all the seasonings on top.  Bake 15-20 minutes then flip them over and bake another 15-20 minutes.  The last couple minutes I like to broil them to get them crispy.  Be careful to watch them though because you can burn them quick on broil.  Hope you give these a try as they are scrumptious!  :)

Leave a Reply

