BBQ Beef Waffle Sandwich…mmm mmm GOOD!

IMG_2058

“You are what you eat…

So don’t be

Fast, Cheap, Easy, or Fake.”

Hi Everyone,
My birthday was this past month and we ventured up to Estes Park for a nice and relaxing weekend of food, drinks, hot tub, and wonderful company!  While there my awesome friend Kristmas, YES Kristmas… long story, gave me a new paleo book called Well Fed 2.  I searched through and the recipe that stood out the most was the BBQ Beef Waffle Sandwich.  First of all, who doesn’t like BBQ?  Well, my sister-in-law, but she’s cookoo… just kidding Aja!  And waffles, duh I love waffles!  Sandwich, that’s like foreign word in Paleo… I must have!  Anyway… made this bad boy the other night and pretty sure it’s one of the best things I’ve put in my mouth for a while! Definitely give this a try, even if you don’t eat paleo it’s still a delicious recipe!

BBQ Beef Ingredients:

  • 1 TBSP Paprika
  • 1/2 TBSP Garlic Powder
  • 1/2 TBSP Salt
  • 1 tsp Chili Powder
  • 1/4 tsp Dry Mustard Powder
  • 2 pounds of chuck roast (mine was bone in)
  • 3 TBSP of cider vinegar
  • 1 TBSP soy sauce (I didn’t have coconut aminos on hand so I subbed this instead)
  • BBQ Sauce (homemade or store-bought)

Cooking Beef Directions:  Take all the seasonings and mix ’em up in a bowl.  Then place your roast in the crock pot and season with mixture on both sides.  Add cider vinegar and soy sauce and cook on low for about 6-7 hours.  Mine crockpot I’ve found always cooks faster than times I’m given in recipes so I actually only cooked for 5ish hours.  Then shred meat with a fork and put it back in the crock pot and add some bbq sauce to the meat and stir it up!  Serve on top of your “waffle” with pickles, coleslaw, or whatever your favorite toppings are!

“Waffle” Ingredients:

  • 2 Sweet Potatoes, grated (here comes the sweat!)
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • a little olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp cream of tartar (I left this out because I didn’t want to go to the store for one small item)

“Waffle” Directions: Grate your sweet potatoes.  Then I wrapped them in paper towels and squeezed out as much moisture as I could!  Then put in a bowl, add the rest of the ingredients and stir.  Once fully mixed scoop into your waffle iron and I smoothed them out since it’s not thIMG_2057e same consistency as waffle batter.  Now here’s the strange part… let it cook in the waffle iron 8-10 minutes!  Trust me I was like it’s going to burn, but it doesn’t.  Just keep checking it’s solid and you can remove it from the waffle iron without falling apart.  Then you can stick it in the oven to crisp it up or keep warm, or if you are like me you just eat it immediately topped with the BBQ beef above and some dill relish!  Seriously delicious!  Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

