Breakfast for Dinner…DUH!

“I eat pieces of shit like you for breakfast.”

“You eat pieces of shit for breakfast?”

“NO..eh……”

IMG_0602Hey Peeps,
Can you name that movie quote above?  Gotta love ya some Happy Gilmore! Anyway… I believe breakfast should not be just breakfast… Why should society say we should only consume eggs, bacon, and all those yummy fluffy pancakes in the morning?  I say we eat pancakes, waffles, eggs, bacon, sausage at anytime of the day!  And sometimes my favorite is having breakfast for dinner!  So I’m making myself some vanilla crispy protein waffles!  Original recipe from PaleOMG can be found here.  I have made these before and just forgot to add them to my blog where I like to collect my favorite recipes so I can always go back to them.  If you’re a waffle lover like me, you’ll love this recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 1 jar of baby applesauce
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 2 TBSP of olive oil (original recipe calls for coconut oil, but I’ve found too much really makes a distinct flavor I do not like)
  • 1 cup of tapioca flour
  • 1 cup of protein powder (I used Optimum Nutrition’s Whey cake batter)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg
  • pinch of salt
  • maple syrup, to top with

Directions: Super easy… Preheat your waffle iron.  In a big bowl mix all the ingredients minus the maple syrup.  Then grease waffle iron, scoop some batter in and let it cook.  Super simple and super delicious!  These turn out super crispy!  Hope you all enjoy! :D

Leave a Reply

