DIY: Instagram Collage

FullSizeRender_1

I can’t believe we have officially been in our new house for six months!  Jeesh, time has just flown by.  The minute we were under contract I started going nuts on Pinterest looking for ideas for decorating, organizing, and on and on.  I forever have been wanting to do some sort of collage with square images.  I mean come on Instagram is the cool new thing, right?  Well, I don’t know about new and I guess it’s not snapchat that all those young kids use, but I have always been a fan of different cropped images.  So I finally put my big girl pants on and did it!  I had to go to 3 stores before I found the items I was looking for to create this, but it was totally worth it.  I absolutely love it and if you’re on a budget it is a great decor project!  All you need is the following:

  • Wooden Frames (unfinished) – found mine at Michael’s for $1.00 each – I used 12
  • 1 Can of Spray Paint – $6.99 – I used metallic gold
  • 4×4 photo prints – Printed these at Walgreens for $0.39 each ($4.68 total)
  • 2 packs of picture hanging strips – Command Brand at Michael’s – $12.00

This project was super simple as well.  I took the packaging off the frames, spray painted them.  I did two coats just to be safe, event though probably didn’t need to.  Then I printed the photos… had to trim them because my frames were 3.7×3.7 inches and the prints were 4×4.  Then put them all in.  Then measured the wall I wanted to put them on.  Found the center.  Then decided that I wanted a two inch gap between all of the frames so measured an inch of from the center and drew lines with a pencil to mark the edges of where my frames needed to go.  Put on the hanging stripes and popped them up on the wall.  I worked from the center out.  For someone who does not do well with structure or math, I think it turned out okay. :PFullSizeRender

Once it was all said and done the total damage to the wallet was $35.67.  I would say not bad for covering a wall with wonderful memories.  Most of the photos I chose for the frames were pictures taken in Colorado in the great outdoors and most were from the fourteeners we have hiked.  Memories that I will never forget and also NEVER want to forget.  And of course had to include the fur babies and hubby in there. :)

Leave a Reply

