I want a hot body, but I also want tacos…

I mean come on, we all want a hot body and to eat tacos and ice cream everyday!  But unfortunately that is not realistic unless you have an amazing metabolism.  We’re officially over half way through January and hopefully you all are having success with your goals or resolutions for 2016!  I hate setting resolutions per say, but I do like to reset after the Holidays filled with food and booze.  So since the new year commenced I have quit drinking and cleaned up my nutrition by cutting out sugar, grains, fruit, starches, most dairy and trying to not eat out.  Now I haven’t been 100%, but I’ve already lost 9 lbs. and am feeling great.  Now that I feel like I’ve cleansed my body a bit it’s time to transition into a more realistic lifestyle and I’ve decided to go with the “if it fits your macro” theory.  Of course I’m going to keep it cleaner for the next few months due to wanting to lean out a bit, but then this way no food is completely off limits and it’s a more attainable lifestyle.  I have done so many different cleanses and diets: South Beach, Whole 30, Paleo, The Zone, the list goes on and on, but I always seem to yo-yo on a lot of them and am sick of it.  I want something that is sustainable, enjoyable, and MOST IMPORTANTLY FUELS MY TRAINING!  I’ll report back as it goes along.  Below is a recipe for some taco soup and holy crap, it’s yummy!  If you’re trying to cut back on the grains or carbs from taco this is the perfect recipe!  You can find the original recipe that I based mine off of at Lexi’s Clean Kitchen here.  I modified some things based on my husband and my own preferences.  Enjoy! :)
IMG_3397

Prep Time: 5-10 minutes of chopping veggies
Cook Time: 30 minutes
Serves: 4

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 lbs. of beef
  • 3 peppers, chopped (I used red, yellow, and orange)
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 TBSP avocado oil or olive oil
  • 15 oz. stewed tomatoes
  • 1 can of black beans (optional)
  • 3 TBSP taco seasoning (I used Penzey’s BOLD taco)

Garnishes (optional):

  • fresh cilantro, chopped
  • sour cream or greek yogurt is a good substitute for sour cream
  • shredded cheese
  • pico de gallo
  • guacamole
  • tortilla chips

Directions:

  1. Chop the veggies and garlic
  2. On medium heat, put in the oil and garlic for a couple minutes
  3. Then add your veggies and stir frequently for 2-3 minutes
  4. Add your beef and stir ’til it’s browned
  5. Mix in the stewed tomatoes and black beans
  6. Bring to a boil and then simmer for 10-15 minutes
  7. Dish up a bowl and garnish with whatever you would like and eat up!
Leave a Reply

