Tequila Cilantro Lime Chicken

IMG_3958

Why does it seem like once you own a house that the things that need to be done are endless?  While I love having our own space, I swear any weekend that we don’t have plans turns into endless house or yard work.  Guess that means I must be getting old, eh?  This weekend we did a ton of laundry, cleaned out closets, dressers and the laundry room.  So I guess we could call it a successful weekend.  And when it’s 100 degrees outside I don’t feel to bad about being inside the air conditioned house all weekend.  I will say though… going through your clothes is difficult.  I found that I have a million dresses that I really never wear.  I mean, I work from home so who am I trying to impress. But I find it hard to justify getting rid of them when they all still fit.  I tried some on though and if I didn’t think they were flattering to my athletic build I tossed them in the giveaway pile.  Sometimes you just have to man up and do it.

This past week I decided I needed to try out a new recipe because we’ve been grilling the same thing every week and of course the first place I look for new recipes is Juli Bauer’s website PaleOMG and I found this gem: tequila cilantro lime chicken.  We served it over some rice and boy was it delicious!

Prep Time: 3+ hours (marinading the chicken)
Cook Time: 15 minutes
Servings: 3-4

Marinade Ingredients:

  • 3 chicken breasts (butterflied)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp of roasted garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1 TBSP garlic minced
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 3 TBSP olive oil
  • zest of 1 lime
  • 2 limes, juiced
  • 3 TBSP honey
  • 1/4 cup of cilantro, minced
  • 1 ounce of tequila

Chicken toppings:

  • olive oil spray – for pan
  • 2 red bell peppers, chopped
  • 1-2 TBSP cilantro, minced
  • 1 TBSP lime juice
  • pinch of salt

Directions:

  1. Butterfly your chicken and place in a glass dish.  Whisk all the rest of the marinade ingredients together and pour over the chicken.  Let marinate for at least 3 hours or even up to 24 hours
  2. Heat up your grill, place chicken on the grill and cook each side for 4-5 minutes.
  3. While the chicken is grilling, chop up your peppers, place in an oiled frying pan over medium heat.  Cook peppers til they are browned and softened – should take about 8-10 minutes.  Once cooked how you like, add cilantro, lime juice, and salt.
  4. Top your chicken with the pepper mixture and serve with some spanish rice whatever other sides you desire.  Eat up!IMG_3960
Leave a Reply

