Thyme Mustard Seared Roast

“I followed my heart and it led me to the fridge.”

StockSnap_D89ESH3WK7.jpg
Unfortunately, that statement is SO TRUE!  I swear food is always on my mind and even more now that I’m doing a 6-week nutrition challenge with our community at our gym.  It entails eating whole foods (meat, vegetables, fruit, nuts, seeds, and a little starch) and then learning how to portion your protein, carbs, and vegetables.  But whenever you start a strict diet and put limitations on food you crave everything you can’t have – we’re in the first week – which is always the worst.  I’ve done my fair share of cleanses, 30-day challenges, and weight loss diets to know that there can be good take aways from them, but that it is not a sustainable lifestyle.

Yo-yo dieting can become a horrible habit.  After doing a nutrition challenge or a whole 30 or a cleanse, try to ease back into a normal nutrition plan like 80% clean and 20% unrestricted.  Allow yourself a treat meal but don’t go off the rails to the point of no return and lose everything you did. Take away key points of why you did the challenge and add them to your regular plan.

A strict nutrition challenge is great for shedding some pounds quickly before an event or just to see how you react to certain foods by cutting them out and slowly reintroducing them into your diet to see what your body prefers as fuel and what upsets it.  But when it comes down to leading a healthy lifestyle you have to do things in moderation and keep your self sane.

Personally, I think in your every day nutrition you should never set limitations, if you are really craving something have it and then the temptation is gone.  Or maybe you set a rule.  I eat super clean all week and allow myself one treat meal over the weekend where you have no limitations.  Or say you having a craving for pizza – have a healthier alternative like making it at home or even making it without crust (meatza).  Just cooking at home in general is SO MUCH better for you than eating out, even if you’re getting salads or a burrito bowl – it’s still not as good as cooking your meals at home.  Anyway… there was my health rant, even though I struggle many occasions with this myself and like to over indulge too often.  Below is a delicious recipe for a beef roast.  I hope you give it a go.

Thyme Mustard Seared Roast

Prep Time: 1 hour 15 minutes
Cook Time: 30-40 minutes
Rest Time: 15 minutes
Servings: 6-8

Dry Rub:

  • black pepper
  • roasted garlic (Penzeys)
  • thyme

Ingredients:

  • dijon mustard – 3/4 cup
  • black pepper – 1 tsp
  • roasted garlic – 1 TBSP
  • thyme – 2 TBSP
  • garlic – minced – 4 cloves
  • rosemary – 1 tsp
  • beef roast – approximately 3.5 lbs.
  • olive oil – 2 TBSP

Directions:

  1. Take roast out and let sit at regular house temp for an hour before you want to cook it.
  2. Once ready to cook – preheat your oven to 475
  3. In a bowl I mixed together the dry rub ingredients and then patted down the roast.
  4. Then I got out a big pan for the stovetop, put some olive oil in it and seared all sides of the roast.  Did about 5-6 minutes each side.
  5. Then I mixed together the mustard, minced garlic and other seasonings in a bowl while the roast was searing.
  6. Once all sides are seared I put the mustard mix coated all over the roast.
  7. Moved it to a roasting pan, put our fancy meat thermometer in it and put it in the oven for 20 minutes.
  8. At about 20 minutes is was at 75 degrees.  I turned down the heat to 425 because I was cooking sweet potato fries too and cooked for another 10 minutes, which put the meat at 100 degrees.  If you like your meat rare-medium rare I would take it out here and let rest for 15 minutes.
  9. If you don’t like it rare-medium rare I would let it cook for 40 minutes total or up to 120-130 degrees on your meat thermometer.  Then again, let it sit for 15 minutes and enjoy some juicy roast. :)
One thought on “Thyme Mustard Seared Roast

Leave a Reply

